Art Center Announces Recipients of Scholarship for Artistic Curiosity

from Edward Hopper House Art Center

The Edward Hopper House Art Center announces its fifth annual Scholarship for Artistic Curiosity.

This award is given to high school juniors from each of the 10 public high schools in Rockland County. The schools’ guidance counselors choose the recipients, with recommendations from the art, music, and English teachers. 

The program was started in 2010 by then Edward Hopper House trustee Victoria Hertz as a way to recognize creative high school juniors as they begin preparations for college and beyond. The objective is to encourage these talented students to maintain their creative inclinations and consider pursuing careers in the arts. Each student receives a $100 award plus a five-year membership at the Edward Hopper House. The award has been generously underwritten since the beginning by Mary Ekmalian.
The ideal candidate is a student who, like Edward Hopper, exhibits unique creative sensibilities and follows his or her own artistic path—whether in fine arts, music, or writing. This may involve a non-traditional process, or the use of innovative media, and having the aptitude to give artistic expression to 
his/her vision.

The recipients of this year’s awards are:

Skyela Bussey - Suffern
Anthony Cona – North Rockland
Stephen Coopersmith - Nanuet
Katelyn Dowd – Pearl River
Wendy Estrella – Nyack
Justine Gizzi – North Rockland
Caitlyn Litaker – Clarkstown South
Jacqueline Manzano – Ramapo
Angelica Ranallo – Tappan Zee
Elaine Tram – Clarkstown North
Karla Urgiles – Spring Valley


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »