Nyack Fire Dept. Celebrates 150 Years With Parade Saturday

Fire Departments from all over Rockland County and part of New Jersey will participate in Saturday's parade.

The Nyack Fire Department will celebrate its 150th Anniversary with a parade through the Nyacks starting 2 p.m. Saturday, but the history goes back even further than that.

"There are only a handful of departments around longer than us at this point," Nyack Fire Chief Jim Weck said. "The oldest company in Rockland County is Orangetown Engine from South Nyack, which was organized in 1834."

Weck explained that Mazeppa Engine Company #2 followed in 1852 and Empire Hook & Ladder Co. #1 formed in 1863. That same year, the three departments united into the Nayck Fire Department, the anniversary being celebrated this year. 

Weck said that the parade will go through Upper Nyack, South Nyack and Nyack to make sure all three villages are included, with the route heading south on Midland Avenue from Castle Heights, then turning left on Main Street into downtown Nyack, right on Broadway and breaking up at Cedar Hill.

Everett "Smokey" Wanamaker will serve as the parade's grand marshal. To find out more about him and his ride Saturday, read this report on Patch. 

The trophy awards will be given out 7 p.m. Saturday at Empire Hook & Ladder in South Nyack

The line of march for the Nyack Fire Department 150th Anniversary Parade is as follows:

Escort Division
  • Color Guard: Orangetown Fire Company #1
  • Nyack High School Band
  • Clarkstown Police Department Honor Guard
  • Grand Marshall Everett "Smokey" Wanamaker of Empire Hook & Ladder Co. No. 1
  • St. Peter's Drum Corps
  • Nyack Fire Department Color Guard: 8 American Flags of the 8 companies of the Nyack Fire Department
  • Nyack Fire Department Banner
  • Nyack Fire Chief Jimmy Weck
  • Battalion Chief John Galietta
  • Deputy Chief Vincent Reid
  • Ex-Chiefs of the Nyack Fire Department
  • Honorary Deputy and Battalion Chiefs
  • Fire Company Commissioners
  • Fire Company Captains
  • Fire Company Officers
  • Members of the Nyack Fire Department
  • Ladies Auxiliary of the Nyack Fire Deparment
  • Fugawi M.C. - President Scott Sangunetti (Mudflap)
  • Empire Hose Co. #1, Piermont NY - Chief William Cavanaugh
  • Empire Hose Co. #1 Ladies Auxiliary
First Division
  • Division Marshall Joseph Stach, Sr.
  • Guests of Empire Hook & Ladder Co. No. 1:
  • Hillcrest Fire Department - Chief Scott Hankinson
  • West Nyack Fire Department - Chief Brian Ulrich
  • Suffern Fire Department - Chief Michael Stark
  • Valley Cottage Fire Department - Chief Howard Gerber
  • Harrington Park Fire Department - Chief Richard Bodinich
Second Division
  • Division Marshall Clifford Ackerson
  • Guests of Jackson Hose Co. #3
  • Tappan Fire Department - Chief Michael Healy
  • Haverstra Fire Department - Chief Al Lynch
  • Montvale Fire Department - Chief Clint Miller
Third Division
  • Division Marshalls Sally Sarvent and Marion Galietta
  • Guests of Chelsea Hook & Ladder Co. #2
  • Sparkill Fire Department - Chief Michael yannazone
  • Orangeburg Fire Department - Chief Neil Lynady
  • Hillburn Fire Department - Chief Ed Kelly
  • Pearl River Fire Department - Chief Dave O'Brien
  • Chelsea Fire Company - Chief Robert VAn Tassel
Fourth Division
  • Division Marshall Ex-Chief Frederick Bliss
  • Guests of Mazeppa Engine Co. #2
  • Highland Engine Co. #1 - Chief Pat Hines
  • S.W. Johnson S.F.E. Co. #1 - Chief John Tesik III
  • Nanuet Engine Co. #1 - Chief Christopher M. Koester
  • Slate Hill Fire Department- Chief James Gayle
Fifth Division
  • Division Marshall Ex-Chief Howard Williams
  • Guests of Jackson Engine Co. #3
  • Rockland Lake Fire Department - Chief Chris Ryan
  • Woodbridge Fire Department - Chief Dave Begbie
Sixth Division
  • Division Marshalls J. Assaro/R. Boreman/C. Scott
  • Guests of Highland Hose Co. #5
  • Slater Chemical Fire Company - Chief Dave Dross
  • Central Nyack Fire Department - Chief Michael Healey, Jr.
  • Morristown Fire Department
Seventh Division
  • Division Marshalls Ex-Chiefs James Clark and James Scully
  • Guests of Nyack Fire Patrol, Inc.
  • Stony Point Fire Department - Chief Joe Robinson
  • Thiells Fire Department - Chief Ray Redmond
  • Blauvelt Fire Department - Chief Chris Conklin
  • Sloatsburg Fire Department - Chief Aniello Vacchiano
Eighth Division
  • Division Marshalls - Ex-Chiefs Brian Knecht and Robert Booth
  • Guests of Orangetown Fire Company #1
  • Mahopac Fire Department - Chief Ray Hamill
  • Riverside Hose Company #4 - Chief Dominic Morobito
  • Columbian Fire Engine Company #1 - Chief Robert Johnson, Jr.
  • Hugh Gassner Fire Company - Chief John Schaber
  • Tallman Fire Department - Chief Chris Szklany
E. Loughran October 05, 2013 at 11:13 PM
Great big, huge parade! But, who are the band members in the flag shirts, visors & khaki shorts? They were good....they played in many separate groups....a few guys had to hoof it back to the top & march again. No banner or name was evident for them.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »